Annual Summit


Annual Summit Registration

Annual Summit Registration Is Now Closed!

AMC's 141st Annual Summit

Saturday January 28th, 2017

Annual Summit is our thanks to the people who make AMC's mission a reality everyday: our members and dedicated volunteers!

Everyone is welcome to attend, from lifelong members to newcomers interested in discovering all that AMC has to offer.

Summit day features:

  • More than 20 presentations and interactive workshops on skills, conservation and leadership

  • AMC's annual volunteer service awards

  • Committee meetings

  • The 141st Annual Business Meeting

  • A delicious buffet lunch

  • An early evening Celebration Reception, with a drink and hors d'oeuvres

Registration is all-inclusive.

Attend any combination of presentations, workshops and meetings that you like. At lunch, hear from President & CEO John Judge about what AMC accomplished in 2016 and where it has set its sights for 2017. At the 141st Business Meeting, receive the club's latest business reports, meet the board-including incoming and outgoing members-and help us applaud our volunteer award recipients. Then toast the day with your AMC community at our festive evening reception!


Pay $30 when you register before January 1, 2017.
After January 1, the regular rate is $40.
Registration includes all workshops, presentations, a buffet lunch and the evening reception.

*This year, in addition to our workshops, we are offering an AHA Heartsaver® CPR/AED certification class. Those who wish to participate in this class may sign up at registration. The $65 course fee, set by the AHA-approved provider, Northeast CPR, will be added to your registration fee. Class size is limited to 25 participants.

Register Now


This year we will reconvene at the Four Points by Sheraton Hotel and Conference Center, in Norwood, Massachusetts. Directions for the hotel can be found here.

Hotel Accommodations

For those interested in staying over Friday night and/or Saturday night, arrangements have been made for a special AMC rate at the Four Points by Sheraton. The rate includes a full buffet breakfast; wifi; a fitness room and parking.

The AMC group rates are, before taxes:

Standard Queen (1 bed): $109 (single occupancy)
King or (2) Queens: $129 (single occupancy); or $139 (double occupancy)

To book your reservation, please contact the hotel's Reservation Manager at 781-769-7900, or email, and mention the AMC Annual Summit to receive the discounted rate. (After January 3, 2017, the discounted rate will be subject to hotel availability.)


The Appalachian Mountain Club's Annual Summit is a time of celebration!

Each year, AMC presents awards to some of our club's most dedicated volunteers. AMC has thousands of amazing volunteers that deserve to be recognized for their commitment and hard work. Please take a moment to nominate a volunteer that you think should be considered.

For more information, nomination forms, and lists of past award recipients, go to


141st Annual Business Meeting January 28, 2017

The 141st Annual Business Meeting will start at 5:00 p.m. at the Four Points by Sheraton in Norwood, MA.

Included in this meeting:

  • Introduction of new board members

  • Recognition of retiring board members

  • Introduction of new chapter chairs

  • Presentation of club-wide volunteer awards

  • Other club business as needed

All are invited to attend. If you plan to do so, please include it in your registration choices.

Open Club-wide Committee Meetings

The following meetings also will take place on Saturday, January 28. These committee meetings are open to all, though only committee members may vote. Please include the meetings you plan to attend in your registration choices.

  • Adventure Travel Committee

  • Chapters Committee

  • Trails Committee

  • Conservation Committee

  • Volunteer-led Camps & Cabins Committee

  • Membership Chairs Meeting

  • Outdoor Leadership Development Committee

Workshops and Presentations

Whatever your interests—from photography to trail work, conservation to risk management, history to trip leadership—Annual Summit has something for you.

Review the full day’s program of fun presentations and interactive workshops, then create your own customized schedule when you register.

View Schedule