Training and Resources

UPCOMING LOCAL Skills SESSIONS

12
Feb
Snow Shoeing along the AT
Fri, Feb 12 - Sun, Feb 14
AMC Mohican Outdoor Center, 50 Camp Mohican Road, Blairstown, NJ 07825, NJ
Explore the backcountry trails of the Delaware Water Gap. If snow conditions are not suitable for snowshoes, we'll hike instead. You are encouraged to bring your own snowshoes, crampons, and...
15
Feb
Family Adventure: Crawford Notch
Mon, Feb 15 - Thu, Feb 18
Highland Center, NH
This adventure is designed for families in search of a fun winter experience. Our trip begins with an orientation session and overnight at AMC's Highland Center. We'll review the programs...
26
Feb
Snowshoe: Crawford Notch
Fri, Feb 26 - Sun, Feb 28
Highland Center, NH
Spend your weekend exploring the outdoors on snowshoes. Embark on easier or moderate snowshoe hikes to stunning views of Crawford Notch, gorgeous frozen waterfalls, or serene lakes. Learn winter...
05
Mar
Snowshoe: Crawford Notch
Fri, Mar 5 - Sun, Mar 7
Highland Center, NH
Spend your weekend exploring the outdoors on snowshoes. Embark on easier or moderate snowshoe hikes to stunning views of Crawford Notch, gorgeous frozen waterfalls, or serene lakes. Learn winter...
12
Mar
Hiking the 4000 Footers: Crawford Notch
Fri, Mar 12 - Sun, Mar 14
Highland Center, NH
This weekend is designed for active, fit participants interested in summiting some 4000+ foot peaks in Crawford Notch during the winter. Participants may be after the 48 peaks or just interested in...
19
Mar
Women's Outdoor Skills: Crawford Notch
Fri, Mar 19 - Sun, Mar 21
Highland Center, NH
Join us on this exclusive women-only excursions into the wild- female participants, female guides. These trips offer the spirit of adventure in an encouraging and supportive atmosphere! This...
26
Mar
Wilderness First Aid
Fri, Mar 26 - Sun, Mar 28
AMC Mohican Outdoor Center, 50 Camp Mohican Road, Blairstown, NJ 07825, NJ
The Wilderness First Aid (WFA) course will teach you how to deal with common medical incidents and accidents that occur in the backcountry. It stresses safety, preparation, crisis avoidance, and the...
26
Mar
Hiking the 4000 Footers: Crawford Notch
Fri, Mar 26 - Sun, Mar 28
Highland Center, NH
This weekend is designed for active, fit participants interested in summiting some 4000+ foot peaks in Crawford Notch during the winter. Participants may be after the 48 peaks or just interested in...
03
Apr
Map and Compass: Crawford Notch
Sat, 9 AM - 5 PM
Highland Center, NH
This one-day Map and Compass course in the "Outdoor Basics for Beginners" series is designed for hikers seeking to gain skills in map reading and compass use. The course will offer one day of indoor...
23
Apr
Intro to Backpacking Skills: Crawford Notch
Fri, Apr 23 - Sun, Apr 25
Highland Center, NH
AMC's Outdoor Guides introduce backpacking skills such as backcountry travel considerations, Leave No Trace ©, map reading and orienting a map with a compass, campsite cooking and set-up to...