Volunteer Award Nomination Form

Know someone who meets the criteria for this award? Fill out the survey at the button below to submit a nomination!

Distinguished Service

The Distinguished Service Award is the Appalachian Mountain Club’s most prestigious volunteer award. Established in 1976 on the 100th Anniversary of the Club, it recognizes AMC volunteers who have contributed outstanding efforts to the mission of the Club for a sustained period of time, and at the very highest levels. This award highlights long term commitment to enhancing and sustaining the integrity of the Club’s conservation, education and recreation values, with a special acknowledgement that the recipients have developed a complete understanding of the values and goals of the entire organization.

The nominees for the Distinguished Service Award will have demonstrated their abilities to make a positive contribution to the Club through their volunteer associations, maintained an outstanding attitude about the mission of the Club, and succeeded in sharing those ideals within volunteer and/or external communities.


Steve Ciras
Clifford Krauss
Troy Murray


Joan Aichele
William Hill


Ruth “Sam” Jamke
Harold Janeway
Henry Schreiber


Ed Poyer
Norm Sims


Eric Pavlak
Peter Roderick


Andy and Linda McLane
Chuck McFarland


John “Noel” Cotter
Gary Forish
YOP Volunteer Community



Donald C. Dolben


Walt Daniels
Ken & Bonnie Hargreaves


Lennie Steinmetz
Al & Barrie Zesiger


Gene Daniell


Sandy Saunders
Andy Nichols
Loretta O’Brien


Peg Nation
Andy Devereaux


Dale Geslien
Rick Silverberg


Bill Darcy
Bob Cummings
Stacia Zukroff


Bill Hays
Kurt & Kathy Piper
Anita Barberis


Doug Christie
Alix & Bob Pratt
Jim Hamilton


Leon & Lisa Gorman
Ann & Earle Perkins


Fred Stott
Ann Sherwood
Don MacFarlane


Tom & Kate Leary
Lennie & Bill Steinmetz

Nomination Process

Awards are presented during the Annual Summit. Plaques will be presented to the recipients. Information on the award recipients will be communicated to the newsletter editor of the recipients’ respective Chapters and announced in other appropriate locations.

Nominations for this award may come from any source and must be submitted by November 15 of each year. Annual announcements about the nomination process will be dispersed through AMC communications and circulated in volunteer and staff networks. All volunteers and staff are invited to make nominations by filling out the nomination form or by mailing it to Nominations, c/o Director of Volunteer Relations, Appalachian Mountain Club, 10 City Square, Boston, MA 02129. Members of the Board of Directors and the award review committee (see below) are not eligible to receive this award during their terms of office. AMC employees are not eligible for this award.

Review Process

Following an initial review, appropriate members of the review committee will seek additional input on the most promising nominees from volunteers and staff familiar with the volunteer’s contributions. The review committee will forward candidates to the Board Executive Committee for their consideration. The President will make all final decisions.

Review Committee

The review committee consists of the chairing members of each of the following committees as well as staff: Outdoor Leadership Development Committee, VCC Committee, Inter-Chapter Trails Committee, Inter-Chapter Paddling, Conservation Committee Chair, Alex Delucia-Trails Director, Faith Salter-Director of Volunteer Relations

Get Involved