Distinguished Service Award

In recognition of outstanding contribution to the work of the Club.


Application and Nomination Form

Know someone who meets the criteria for this award? Download the application and nominate them!


Distinguished Service

The Distinguished Service Award is the Appalachian Mountain Club’s most prestigious volunteer award. Established in 1976 on the 100th Anniversary of the Club, it recognizes AMC volunteers who have contributed outstanding efforts to the mission of the Club for a sustained period of time, and at the very highest levels. This award highlights long term commitment to enhancing and sustaining the integrity of the Club’s conservation, education and recreation values, with a special acknowledgement that the recipients have developed a complete understanding of the values and goals of the entire organization.

The nominees for the Distinguished Service Award will have demonstrated their abilities to make a positive contribution to the Club through their volunteer associations, maintained an outstanding attitude about the mission of the Club, and succeeded in sharing those ideals within volunteer and/or external communities.


Ruth "Sam" Jamke
Harold Janeway
Henry Schreiber


Ed Poyer
Norm Sims


Eric Pavlak
Peter Roderick


Andy and Linda McLane
Chuck McFarland


John "Noel" Cotter
Gary Forish

YOP Volunteer Community




Donald C. Dolben


Walt Daniels

Ken & Bonnie Hargreaves


Lennie Steinmetz

Al & Barrie Zesiger


Gene Daniell


Sandy Saunders,/p>

Andy Nichols

Loretta O'Brien


Peg Nation

Andy Devereaux


Dale Geslien

Rick Silverberg


Bill Darcy

Bob Cummings

Stacia Zukroff


Bill Hays

Kurt & Kathy Piper

Anita Barberis


Doug Christie

Alix & Bob Pratt

Jim Hamilton


Leon & Lisa Gorman

Ann & Earle Perkins


Fred Stott

Ann Sherwood

Don MacFarlane


Tom & Kate Leary

Lennie & Bill Steinmetz

Nomination Process

Awards are presented during the Annual Summit. Plaques will be presented to the recipients. Information on the award recipients will be communicated to the newsletter editor of the recipients’ respective Chapters and announced in other appropriate locations.

Nominations for this award may come from any source and must be submitted by November 15, 2016. Annual announcements about the nomination process will be dispersed through AMC communications and circulated in volunteer and staff networks. All volunteers and staff are invited to make nominations by filling out the nomination form or by mailing it to Nominations, c/o Director of Volunteer Relations, Appalachian Mountain Club, 10 City Square, Boston, MA 02129. Members of the Board of Directors and the award review committee (see below) are not eligible to receive this award during their terms of office. AMC employees are not eligible for this award.

Review Process

Following an initial review, appropriate members of the review committee will seek additional input on the most promising nominees from volunteers and staff familiar with the volunteer’s contributions. The review committee will forward candidates to the Board Executive Committee for their consideration. The President will make all final decisions.

Review Committee

Sharon Foster—Chapters Committee Chair, Rick Silverberg—Outdoor Leadership Development Committee Chair, John Dean—VMF Committee Chair, Chris Shafer—Inter-Chapter Trails Committee Chair, Julia Khorana—Inter-Chapter Paddling Chair, Steve Ciras—Clubwide Conservation Committee Chair, Alex Delucia—Trails Director, Faith Salter—Director of Volunteer Relations

Get Involved