Volunteer Award Nomination Form

Know someone who meets the criteria for this award? Fill out the survey below to submit a nomination!

Volunteer Leadership Award

The Volunteer Leadership Award recognizes AMC’s outstanding volunteer leaders who demonstrate the desire to share their time and expertise in the pursuit of AMC’s recreation, conservation, and education mission.

The Volunteer Leadership Award recognizes one or more dedicated volunteers who, in addition to contributing many hours, demonstrate outstanding passion and commitment and are instrumental to AMC’s activities, programs and mission. Previous award recipients are not eligible.


Barbara Beatrice & Jeff Fritzinger, Delaware Valley Chapter
Merri Fox, Adventure Travel
Al Grimstad, Adopt-A-Trail
Herbert Kingsbury, Echo Lake Camp Naturalist and New Hampshire Chapter
Pat Lambert, Worcester Chapter
Pete Lane, Alpine Steward, Information Volunteer, Worcester Chapter
Paul Terenzi, Boston Chapter
Phil Wilsey, Connecticut Chapter


Greg Bernet, Delaware Valley Chapter
Dave Boone, Connecticut Chapter Trails
Kelly Caruso, Adult Volunteer Vacation Leader
Stephen Conlin, Boston Chapter
Paula Hudson, Adult Volunteer Vacation Leader
Jan Alicia Nettler, Berkshire Chapter
Tom Skoglund, Information Volunteer
Rachael White, Boston Chapter Young Members
Eileen Yin, New York-North Jersey Chapter


Cynthia Tollo Falls – New York-North Jersey Chapter and Chapters Committee
Steve Crowe – Worcester Chapter Trails
Deb Shigo – Information & Program Volunteer and Volunteer Naturalist
Michael Zlogar – Berkshire Chapter New England Scenic Trail Committee
Julie LePage – Boston Chapter
Nancy Damboise – Program Volunteer
Beth Zimmer – New Hampshire Chapter
James Greaney – Volunteer Naturalist and Citizen Science
Jeanne Blauner – Boston Chapter Family Outings


Doug Arion, Astronomy Program Leader
John Tifft, Mohawk Hudson Trail Volunteer
Ed Faron, Worcester Chapter Midstate Trail Committee Volunteer
Ron Janowitz, Adventure Travel and New Hampshire Chapter Volunteer


Charlie Arsenault, Worcester Chapter and Chapters Committee
Sharon Bonk, Mohawk Hudson Chapter
Jeff Carlson, Boston Chapter and Chapters Committee
Marcie Madsen, Narragansett Chapter and Information Volunteer
Cindy Martell, Worcester Chapter, Information Volunteer, and Adventure Travel
Peg Nation, Maine Chapter, Naturalist, Information Volunteer, Flower Watch


Bill McBunch, Information Volunteer
Ogden (Denny) Nackoney, Bay Circuit Trail and Boston Chapter Trails Committee
Patrick Fletcher, New England Scenic Trail and Berkshire Chapter Trails Committee
Denise Poyer, Narragansett Chapter
Deb Herlihy, Worcester Chapter


Dave Corbin
Wayne Foote
Sara Hart
John Mullens
Jim & Julie Pelletier
Chris Rapacki


Jeff Aceto
Ledge Clayton
Bill Darcy
Sharon Foster
Chris Shafer


Joan Aichele
John Crist
Scott Monroe
Michael O’Connor
Scott Taylor
Jack Schempp


George Brown
Larry & Ginger Ely
Joan & Art Gulovsen
Allen Male
Jim Scheef


Bernie Hickey
Leo Kelly
Tim Kennedy
Trish Niece
Ed Poyer
Rick Tjader


Sam (Ruth) Jamke
Mike Barry
Steve Ridgley
Jack Trickey
T. Walley Williams


Barbara Dyer
Julia Khorana
Daryl Borst
Pete Mason
Henry Schreiber


Peter & Janet Roderick
Paul & Mary Ann Ray
Cosmo Catalano


Gary Forish


Eric Stones Jeff Hogan

Criteria & Nomination Process

Awards are presented during the Annual Summit. Plaques will be presented to the recipients. Information on the award recipients will be communicated to the newsletter editor of the recipients’ respective Chapters and announced in other appropriate locations.


This award is for current AMC members with at least five years of active service who have made significant contributions to volunteer leadership within their club units. The recipients will have furthered the recreation, conservation, and education mission of the AMC in some way. Particular emphasis will be given to those volunteers whose initiatives advance one or more of the following within the AMC: diversity, effective communication, volunteer involvement, membership recruitment or retention, facilities, risk management and safety, leadership training, conservation, education and/or the strategic plan of the AMC (currently Vision 2020).

Nomination Process

Nominations for this award may come from any source and must be submitted by November 15, 2016. Annual announcements about the nomination process will be dispersed through AMC communications and circulated in volunteer and staff networks. All volunteers and staff are invited to make nominations by filling out the nomination form or by mailing it to Nominations, c/o Director of Volunteer Relations, Appalachian Mountain Club, 10 City Square, Boston, MA 02129. Members of the Board of Directors and the award review committee (see below) are not eligible to receive this award during their terms of office. AMC employees are not eligible for this award.Review Process: Following an initial review, appropriate members of the review committee will seek additional input on the most promising nominees from volunteers and staff familiar with the volunteer’s contributions. The review committee will forward candidates to the Board Executive Committee for their consideration. The President will make all final decisions.

Review Committee

John Mullens-Chapters Committee Chair, Chris Fogarty-Outdoor Leadership Development Committee Chair, Neil Burns-VMF Committee Chair, Phil Mulligan-Inter-Chapter Trails Committee Chair, Julia Khorana-Inter-Chapter Paddling Chair, Bob Guenther-Clubwide Conservation Committee Chair, Bill Fogel – Interchapter Climbing Committee Chair, Steve Cohen-Adventure Travel Chair, Alex DeLucia-Trails, Faith Salter-Volunteer Relations

Get Involved