More information

Learn more about the Stewardship Society awards.


Warren Hart Award

The Stewardship Society Award honors AMC volunteers who carry on the tradition of public service activity and bring new members to join in the effort. The Stewardship Society structure seeks to recognize and encourage AMC's grassroots public service volunteers to contribute to the protection, enjoyment, and wise use of the public lands. Stewardship Society members typically volunteer on trail work, conservation, or other stewardship projects.

The Warren Hart Award recognizes those who have given at least 224 Hours. Warren Hart, AMC Councillor of Improvements (Trails) from 1908-1910 was a stellar example of this spirit of volunteerism for trails. He spent 28 days in 1908 creating trails in the Great Gulf Wilderness. Hart, by his personal example, inspired other members to join in the effort. By 1910 Hart lead "working sections" of 40 people in summer trail building expeditions.


Tally Sheet


Past Recipients

2018 Warren Hart Award - 224+ hours

Miranda Arthur-Smith

William Barrett

Dave Boone

Ray Bracone

Bill Brooke

Mike Carrafiello

Cosmo Catalano

Nate Cherniak

Siri Colom

Stephen Crowe

Walt Daniels

Jim Dowling

Henry Edmonds

Frank Evans

Don Fairbanks

Ed Faron

Robert Fuller

Joshua Gillenson

James Greaney

Tom Heisler

Laura Lane

Aaron Lawrence

JT Lenoch

Jim Liptack

Brett Marcotte

Scott Monroe

Phil Mulligan

Michael O'Connor

Jim Pelletier

Dave Pirog

Pegah Rahmanian

Paul Reder

Pete Rentz

Tom Skoglund

Steve Smith

Laura Stinette

Russ Waldie

Richard Wanderman

Mike Zlogar

Get Involved